Disgaea 4: The Art of Stealing

How to rob everyone blind in Disgaea 4 with little effort.

How to rob everyone blind in Disgaea 4 with little effort.

One of the most difficult things to do in Disgaea 4 is stealing. For the longest time I couldn’t figure it out; I felt like my Master Thief was a master loser without any real purpose. But I figured out a trick that made getting those rarest of rare items off of the hardest bosses easy as pie. The stealing part is easy but getting to a point where you get 99 percent from an Awesome Hand was not. The method I used follows – chances are there are spoilers in here, so don’t read this post beyond this point if you are worried about such things…

You may recall in my last post on Disgaea 4 that I have been using enforcers to move unsubdued innocents around. Using the stacking and level 96 (taking Innocent boost paths all the way there) weapon as a way to build up stacks of subdued innocents.

The first time I fought Zetta in the post game I realized he had a lot of stuff I wanted. I also realized that my level 1100 thief couldn’t touch the stuff. Stealing requires you to use a hand and a hand with more HIT works best. So I posited that adding Marksmen to an Awesome Hand would help me steal..

So I added a stack of 16,000 and went back in to test it on Zetta, who I had not yet been able to defeat. What I learned was that – at the cost of four stacks of subdued Marksman and four awesome hands I was able to easily pick Zetta clean of every item in his possession. I had a probability of 99 percent from the front and back and I was able to take everything – including Makai Wars.

Now some might argue that this is a waste of time, but how many Makai Wars will you run into in this game? Ultimately the time I spent subduing these innocents was worth sacrificing to get these items off of Zetta and into my possession. As soon as I had it in my inventory I equipped to Valvatorez and used it against Zetta to finally beat him.

What’s interesting about this method is that it throws the level requirement for your thief right out the window. In my example Zetta was level 5,000 and my Master Thief was a mere 1100. The last piece of advice I’ll leave you with is that it doesn’t hurt to have a fifth stack of Marksman on your thief. It’s the difference between never missing and occasionally missing. Be sure to save before you do anything else though..

This trick does not work in the Senate or against any of your characters if you happen to run into their alter egos in character world.

Still it’s worth the effort to create some special helpers for those ultra rare rank 40 items. Also because Zetta’s Makai Wars is Legendary it’s an absolute must have…

Next time we’ll talk about the Legendary Tree and the Sacrificial Altar and why these Evil symbols can save your ass in the most serious of fights.

Explore posts in the same categories: Genre, RPG, Strategy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

3 Comments on “Disgaea 4: The Art of Stealing”

  1. adam Says:

    i have the strategy guide for this game and it says that you can only increase the items ability with one complete stack of innocents so one stack should work just as well as four

  2. Anonymous Says:

    There is a stat cap of 19998.


Comments are closed.